Michael Wog II captures 2009 AGA Player of the Year honors

Michael Wog II of Scottsdale earned AGA Player of the Year honors, while David McDaniel of Tucson captured the Mayfair Award for lowest stroke average. In addition, Divisional Player of the Year awards were garnered by Pat Geare (Masters) of Tucson, Frank Ellenburg (Senior) of Chandler and Jamie Gough (Legends) of Phoenix. The awards will be formally presented at the AGA Spring Meeting and Awards Banquet on March 4th.

Wog II, 28, started off strong and had a banner year finishing the season as the top ranked player in the AGA Performance Points standings.  Making his presence early, he started 2009 with a four-tournament win streak that included his first AGA major championship with a stunning nine-stroke victory at the Arizona Publinks. He also captured wins at the East Valley Short Course, San Tan Amateur and Phoenix City Amateur.

McDaniel, of Tucson, a former golfer at the University of Arizona had a breakthrough year with an impressive 67.96 stroke average for the year along with a thrilling finish on the 18th hole to win the Arizona Amateur Championship.

Geare, 47, an attorney, who only recently started taking competitive golf seriously, with such accomplishments as a victory at the Northern Divisional Four-Ball, reaching the semifinals of the Senior Match Play Championship and a third place finish in the East Valley Divisional Four-Ball.

Ellenburg, 57, a former professional bowler, had a golfing year that many can only dream of. Having played the game most of his life, he didn’t start playing competitively until the mid 1990s and finally saw all his efforts culminate in a memorable season.

Gough, 66, a retired Air Force officer recently relocated to Phoenix from Virginia where he had been the Senior Golfer of the Year on a number of occasions. In just four events, he won three including the Divisional Match Play, Northern Divisional Four Ball and East Valley Four Ball.