Arizona Golf Hall of Fame announces 2009 Inductees

Ken KellaneyRick LaRoseGary Panks
Ken Kellaney, Rick LaRose, Gary Panks

Golf Amateur Ken Kellaney, legendary University of Arizona golf coach Rick LaRose and renowned golf course architect Gary Panks have been selected as the 2009 inductees into the Arizona Golf Hall of Fame that will take place on Monday, Nov. 23 at Gainey Ranch Golf Club in Scottsdale.

This prestigious honor recognizes individuals for service to the game of golf in the state and is spearheaded by the Arizona Golf Association (AGA), Southwest Section of the PGA (SWSPGA), Arizona Women’s Golf Association (AWGA), Junior Golf Association of Arizona (JGAA) and the Cactus and Pine Golf Course Superintendent’s Association of Arizona (CPGCSA). Since its establishment in 1968, a total of 69 people have been recognized.

As part of the festivities, a pro-am golf tournament will be held prior to the Induction Ceremony, using a modified scramble format pairing three amateurs with one professional. The entry fee of $175 per player or $700 per team helps to support the Hall of Fame. For those attending the Induction Ceremony only, the fee is $25 per person.

The schedule for the day is as follows:
11:00 a.m. - Registration and box lunch
12:00 p.m. - Modified Scramble Shotgun
5:00 p.m. - Hors d’ oeuvres and Beverages
6:00 p.m. - Induction Ceremony.

For Pro-Am information contact either the AGA Office at 800.458.8484, the Southwest Section PGA at 480.443.9002, Cactus and Pine at 480.609.6778 or AWGA at 602.253.5655.