Arizona Golf Hall of Fame to induct Phoenix Thunderbirds and Tucson Conquistadors

The Arizona Golf Hall of Fame will enshrine The Phoenix Thunderbirds and Tucson Conquistadors at the Annual Ceremony on Monday, November 23, 2015 at the Camelback Golf Club in Scottsdale, Arizona.  The Ceremony is preceded by a ProAm at noon with the Ceremony beginning at 5:30 with cocktails and a light dinner.

The Phoenix Thunderbirds have been the driving force behind the Waste Management (Phoenix) Open for 80 years.   

“On behalf of The Thunderbirds I want to thank the Arizona Golf Hall of Fame Committee for our induction into this elite group,” said The Thunderbirds Big Chief Danny Calihan. “We are honored to be one of the first groups to be inducted, along with the Tucson Conquistadores, and we are thrilled that this prestigious achievement comes on the heels of a milestone year for The Thunderbirds and the Waste Management Phoenix Open.”

The Tucson Conquistadors have been a driving force both for golf and charitable fundraising in the southern Arizona community though multiple PGA TOUR, World Championship and Champions Tour events. 

In reflecting on the impact of the Conquistadores, “The privilege to host PGA TOUR and LPGA events for our community over the past 53 years is one thing,” said Tucson Conquistadores’ president Oscar Lizardi. “Helping tens of thousands of Southern Arizona kids engage in sports as a result of our partnership with professional golf is the ultimate reward.”

Each of the participating associations in Arizona will begin the evening by honoring a special award recipient from their association:

AGA – Champion of Golf to Ms. Debbie Waitkus

AWGA – Dorothy Pease to Rose Nehring

The First Tee – Greg Hoyt Junior of the Year to Kenny Steubs

JGAA – 2015 Division Champions

Southwest Section PGA – Johnny Bulla Award to Bobby Phillips

All Arizona Golfers are welcome.    

ProAm participants are $175, $65 dinner only.  RSVP to Ginger Monroy 602.944.3035 ( or through any partner association.

The Arizona Golf Hall of Fame is part of the Arizona Golf Foundation, a 501(c)3 charitable entity. The Hall of Fame is managed by Arizona’s golf associations: Arizona Golf Association, Arizona Women’s Golf Association, the Cactus & Pine Superintendents Association, the Club Managers Association of Arizona, and the Southwest Section PGA.