Sigel’s hole-out for eagle on 17 propels him to victory at “The Sizzler Amateur” at Troon North

Ben Sigel, a sophomore at the University of Kansas from Deephaven, Minnesota, shot a final round 5-under par 67 to propel him to a one-shot victory at The Sizzler Amateur on the Monument Course at Troon North Golf Club in Scottsdale, Arizona. 

After shooting a pair of 69s the first two rounds, Sigel entered the final round trailing 36-hole leader Ryoto Furuya by one shot. On the 495-yard, par 4 17th hole – with the wind coming from his left – Sigel hit a 6-iron from 190 yards. The ball landed just short of the hole and rolled into the cup for an eagle (2). The eagle gave Sigel a two-shot cushion going into 18, which he needed when Furuya birdied 18. Sigel finished the tournament at -11, one shot ahead of Furuya at -10 (69, 68, 69). 

Troon®, the leader in golf course management, development, and marketing, developed the Troon Saguaro Amateur Series, a multi-stage series of competitive amateur golf events at Troon-managed facilities. The Sizzler, the first event of the 2018 Troon Saguaro Amateur Series, was held at Troon North Golf Club in Scottsdale, Arizona June 17-20. The Troon Saguaro Amateur Series consists of five events over three states and provides high-level amateurs, college players, juniors and Troon-facility club champions a chance to compete throughout the year. The Rocky Top Amateur is the next event on the Troon Saguaro Amateur Series and will be played August 13-16 at Tennessee National Golf Club in Knoxville, Tennessee. 

With his victory at The Sizzler, Sigel earns 100 points in the race for the Troon Saguaro Amateur Series Championship.  All Troon Saguaro Amateur Series events are World Amateur Golf Ranking (WAGR) and Scratch Player World Amateur Ranking (SPWAR) ranked events. Each event winner and top point earners earn exemptions into the season-ending Saguaro Amateur at Ak-Chin Southern Dunes Golf Club in Maricopa, Ariz. January 1-4, 2019.

The Sizzler Top 10:
1.  Ben Sigel 69-69-67 – 205 (-11)
2.  Ryoto Furuya  69-68-69 – 206 (-10)
3.  Gavin Cohen  73-69-69 – 211
4. Piran Adi  69-73-69 – 211
5. Rosswell Sinclair  72-68-71 – 211
6. Aaron Ramos  71-68-72 – 211
7.  Jackson Markham  72-75-67 – 214
8.  Austin Cotton  73-74-68 – 215
9.  Trevor Olkowski  73-75-68 – 216
10.  Chase Carlson  72-74-72 – 218

The 2018-19 Troon Saguaro Amateur Series includes the following events:

2018 Sizzler Amateur – June 17-20 at Troon North (Monument Course) in Scottsdale, Arizona

• 2018 Rocky Top Amateur – August 13-16 at Tennessee National Golf Club in Knoxville, Tennessee

• 2018 Gobbler Amateur – November 18-21 at Sewailo Golf Club in Tucson, Arizona  

• 2018 Agave Amateur –  December 18-21 at Shadow Hills Golf Club near Palm Desert, California

• 2019 Saguaro Amateur (Troon Saguaro Amateur Series Championship) – January 1-4, 2019 at Ak-Chin Southern Dunes Golf Club in Maricopa, Arizona

The concept of the Saguaro Amateur and its evolution into a series is the brainchild of University of Colorado Head Men’s Golf Coach Roy Edwards, University of Wyoming Director of Golf Programs Joe Jensen, and Ak-Chin Southern Dunes General Manager Brady Wilson. Troon is the series’ title sponsor. The 2017-18 Troon Saguaro Amateur Series was won by Blake Hathcoat, a junior at St. Mary’s College in Moraga, California. 

For more information and entry details for the Troon Saguaro Amateur Series, visit