Junior Golf Association of Arizona names its annual award winners

Anthony Quezada and Jamie Jaruvangsanti lead impressive list of junior golfers

Jamie Jaruvangsanti captured Player of the Year honors for the Girls Championship division of the JGAA. Jaruvangsanti finished in the Top 5 in thirteen of her 15 events on the season, including six wins. She won the Mesa City Junior Championship and the PING Junior Match Play Championship. Her low round of the year was a 4 under-par 68 at the Phoenix City Junior Championship.

The Boys Championship Player of the Year was Anthony Quezada of Phoenix. Quezada won three tournament titles starting with the Willie Low Invitational. He would later go on to win the PING Arizona Junior Masters from a threeway playoff. He finished the Phoenix Metro Junior Championship with rounds of 74 and 71 to capture his third victory of the year.

Recently, the JGAA announced its annual award winners at a banquet held at ASU Karsten Golf Course.

The following represents the remaining JGAA Player-of-the-Year Award Winners:

2010 Player of the Year Awards
Girls Championship –

Jamie Jaruvangsanti
Girls 15-18 – Morgan Miller
Girls 13-14 – J.C. Harvison
Girls 11-12 – Ocean Pangan
Girls 10 & Under – Alexandra Quihuis

Boys Championship –
Anthony Quezada
Boys 15-18 – Benjamin Potter and Shane Allor
Boys 13-14 – Timothy Briones
Boys 11-12 – J.J. Gresco
Boys 10 & Under – Cam Sandland

Sportsmanship Award Winners and their respective age brackets were:
Ellie Leitner -- Girls 10-Under;
Mason Nam – Boys 10-Under;
Karsten Mickelsen – Girls 11-12;
Brett Dunaway – Boys 11-12;
Kaitlyn Saum – Girls 13-14;
Nick Singpradith – Boys 13-14;
Charatta Thongbai – Girls 15-18;
Michael Guardiola – Boys 15-18.

Most Improved Golfers in 2010 were Katie Kearney of Scottsdale.
J.T. Rodenkirch won the year’s most improved golfer for the boys division.
Gary Logelin was this year’s recipient of the Volunteer of the Year Award.

The Ace in the Hole.
The following golfers fired hole-in-ones during the season and were honored at the Awards Banquet at ASU Karsten Golf Course:

Megan Hauptman - Scottsdale, AZ
April 18, 2010 at Lone Tree Golf Club
Hole #14 130 yards using a 9 iron
Junior/Parent Team Scramble

John Templeton – Glendale, AZ
May 16, 2010 at Las Colinas Golf Club
Hole #8 185 yards using a 6 iron Spring Stableford

Megan Knadler – Phoenix, AZ
June 29, 2010 at Encanto Golf Course
Round 1 - Hole #7 101 yards using a 9 iron Antigua Milt Coggins Arizona Junior Stroke Play

Erin McClure – Tucson, AZ
July 8, 2010 at Forest Highlands Golf Club
Round 2 - Hole #8 131 yards using a 9 iron Girls State Junior Golf Championship

Dominick Moreira – Phoenix, AZ
July 20, 2010 at Starfire Golf Club
Round 1 - Hole #5 125 yards using a 9 iron Scottsdale City Junior Championship

For more information on the 2010 JGAA Award winners, call 602.944.6168 or visit www.jgaa.org.