Brandon Smith wins PING SWSPGA Championship; Mike Wright wins Senior Section Championship

Brandon Smith of Tucson shot a 69-69-71—209 to win the 2010 Southwest Section PGA Championship last month at The Chase at Coyote Springs in Las Vegas, NV. Smith, who works out of Ventana Canyon Golf Club in Tucson, won the tournament by a single shot. Marty Jertson of Phoenix, Mike Malaska of Superstition Mountain Golf & Country Club and Dean Vomacka of Phoenix tied for second at 210, one shot behind Smith, who won $5,000 for winning the championship.

In other SWSPGA tournament news, Mike Wright, the president of the Southwest Section PGA and director of instruction at Superstition Springs Golf Club in Mesa, won the Senior Section Championship September 14-15 at Pinnacle Peak Country Club in Scottsdale. Wright, who took home a first place check worth $1,500, shot a 36-hole total of 68-64—132, which was five strokes better than former Champions Tour player Jim Ahern of Phoenix and Chris Endres of Anthem Golf & Country Club.